Blogger. He even decides not to bother with replacing the stain on the floor in the library. Like many works of literature, the story first appeared in a magazine, The Court and Society Review in February 1887. Since starting this website in 2009, I’ve come to realise I enjoy writing about books almost as much as reading them. Washington decides to write to Messrs Myers and Podmore,The Canterville Ghost by Oscar Wilde is told through the eyes of the very theatrical ghost, Sir Simon, who appears in many different costumes and personas – Red Reuben, Strangled Babe, Dumb Daniel, Suicide’s Skeleton, Martin the Maniac, Masked Mystery, Reckless Rupert, Headless Earl and so on.

How about a good ghost story? I am also a published author, writer, expert interviewer and the host of the Performance Accelerator Plan, a movement to help participants get the 10 skills needed for future jobs. “Upon the other hand,” he continued, “if he really declines to use the Rising Sun Lubricator, we shall have to take his chains from him. Canterville Ghost review – spirited haunted-house shenanigans | … CEO & Founder of The Invisible Mentor. Expert Interviewer. Secondly, while the setting is definitely gothic this story actually lampoons traditional features of ghost stories; the appearance of bloodstains, the creaking floorboards and the sound of rattling chains. If you answered to both questions, then you’ll love the Canterville Ghost by Oscar Wilde. Otis is warned by Lord Canterville that the house is haunted, but he doesn’t believe in ghosts.This is not a typical ghost story. For example, check out this movie trailer of The Canterville Ghost (1996) starring Patrick Stewart and Neve Campbell.How’s that for a retro blast from the past?